Anger. Belief. Pride.

18 Jun

What do anger, belief and pride have in common? They all belong to my emotional and mental state during this journey of weight loss.

Anger: I often have to stop myself from being angry. Anger can become a massive emotional and mental block. You are probably asking, “Why would you be angry?” Well, to answer your question, I am angry for:

  1. allowing myself to gain 70 pounds
  2. thinking it was OK to be unhealthy
  3. making myself think it was all about losing weight
  4. feeling sorry for myself

Belief: What do I believe? I believe we can all tackle this obsession with weight. We need to stop thinking, “Oh, I just want to be skinny” and transform our thinking to “I just want to be healthy and strong.” When I started CrossFit, I quickly realized that I DID NOT believe in myself, but you know what? My coaches and fellow CrossFitters believed in me. In CrossFit, you are constantly pushing yourself and breaking down those barriers of unbelief.

Pride: We all need to be proud of ourselves and our accomplishments. Please do not confuse pride with arrogance because they are different! And what am I proud of:

  1. Running a mile in 13:16 (my coach, Josh, taught me how to run)
  2. Walking up three levels of stairs without becoming winded (I sometimes run!)
  3. Biking 12 miles (wowza, right?)
  4. Swinging a 35 pound kettle bell
  5. Deadlifting 155 pounds
  6. Pull ups with just a blue band (huge deal here, people!)
  7. Doing 40 sit ups without taking a break

The list can go on and on, but I’ll stop at 7. I am far more proud of myself than angry. Sure, I have off days and feel like I am too weak to do a WOD, but I show up and get it done.

I love the way CrossFit makes me feel: strong, healthy and proud.

4 Responses to “Anger. Belief. Pride.”

  1. Margaret McGuire June 18, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Stephanie,
    I am so proud of you. You are such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing.

    • sfletcher81 June 18, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

      Thank you, Margaret! The entire HELP Group is an inspiration. Y’all ‘help’ me to keep going. 🙂

  2. Shannon June 19, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    You reminded me of something I’d forgotten-why I started to begin with. I needed to read this to get back on track. Thanks girl 🙂

    • sfletcher81 June 19, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      We can do this, Shannon! You have come too far to stop now. Let’s get to work!

Leave a Reply

