Turn that Switch off!

20 Jun

Let me help motivate you.

First, I will explain the relationship between my coach, Josh, and myself.  When I showed up at RRCF for my first work out, he encouraged – well, he made – me join RRCF BEFORE the 7 minute WOD.  I suppose by the tone of my long and sappy email, plus the phone conversation about my goals, he took MY best interest at heart.  From the beginning, I have been brutally honest with Josh and in turn he has been brutally honest with me.

Josh and I have these “come to Jesus” meetings.  Here’s how they come about:  I start feeling sorry for myself, over evaluate my progress and more than likely I begin crying.  Now, during these “come to Jesus” meetings – things get raw – and Josh just tells me like it is.  I take it because I know that he is reeling me back in for my own sake.  One of the best things Josh has told/taught me is to “turn the switch off” and to let go.  I am always worrying about what others are thinking about me (i.e., how’s my hair, what about my clothes, ugh – I look so fat, I bet people are making fun of me, I shouldn’t be wearing this, I’m going to look stupid, etc.).  After Josh told me to turn the switch off, I did and let go of wondering, worrying and stressing.  And you know what?  It felt awesome and a huge weight was lifted from my shoulders.  I can’t live my life worrying about what someone else is thinking about me.  I am Stephanie.  I work at my own pace and not the pace of others and I am working to recognize the progress I have made.

Do me a favor and turn that switch off!  Dance when you want to dance.  Sing when you want to sing.  Just be you.  🙂

One Response to “Turn that Switch off!”

  1. Amy June 25, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    You’re my inspiration 🙂 I need to turn my switch off!!!

Leave a Reply

