What Motivates You?

20 Jun

mo·ti·va·tion   noun    \ˌmōt-ə-ˈvā-shən\

Definition of MOTIVATION

Taken from www.merriam-webster.com

  1. a: the act or process of motivating, b: the condition of being motivated
  2. motivating force, stimulus, or influence (as a drive or incentive) <lacks the motivation to lose weight>

Taking definition 2, what is the driving force or incentive for your own personal motivation?  If you have read the “About” section of this blog, you learned that this whole process of motivation is fairly new.  My typical cycle of motivation is:

Month 1:  Nothing can stop me.  I am going to the gym at least three times per week.  I can resist cake, candy, cokes and fast food. 

Month 2:  I’m getting weak.  The trips to the gym are decreasing.  I can be easily influenced to have a small slice of cake. 

Month 3:  Motivation is gone.  I’m giving up all fitness and no longer eating right.

I was in the “Month 3” stage when I contacted Josh about CrossFit, but things were a little different.  I was at rock bottom.  During this particular “Month 3” stage in my life, I actually considered giving up.  I was so focused on being skinny.  I was telling myself, well, I’ll never be skinny.  Thankfully, my mind was “reprogrammed” with CrossFit, which promotes overall health and strength.  Guess what?  I am 7 months into CrossFit and still going strong.

I am sure by now that you are tired of reading the word or about “CrossFit,” but I will not apologize for talking about it or believing in it.  Point is CrossFit works for me.  I take pride in River Region CrossFit, my coaches and friends, and the work that is done there.  All of these factors help motivate me to keep going – to push myself a little more each day.

CrossFit, coaches, friends and people like you who read my blog help to influence and drive motivation, but what keeps me motivated?  I’ll include a small list.  🙂

  1. My son.  I want to BE an example for my son, BE active and play with him, BE healthy and strong when he has kids.  Bottom line:  I want my son to be proud of his momma.
  2. My husband.  He works out every day at home.  He probably has enough drive, initiative and motivation for about 20 people!  When it comes to my weight issues, he has never once “put me down,” and he stood by and loved me when the scale rocketed to over 200 pounds.
  3. Now we get to me.  I WANT to keep motivated in order for me to be proud of me, to love myself, to look in the mirror and accept who I am – freckles, short legs, stretch marks – the whole kit and caboodle.  If my son and husband can love me, then I should be able to love myself.

Today, think about what helps to influence and drive your own motivation and what keeps you motivated.

4 Responses to “What Motivates You?”

  1. Kari June 20, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    I am proud of you. I love what drives your motivation, my favorite being yourself. If you don’t love you? Who will? Keep up the good work. Love you!

    • sfletcher81 June 20, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

      Thank you, Kari. You have done so well with changing your lifestyle. 🙂 Love you!

  2. Amanda June 20, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    I am proud of your whole kit and caboodle! LOL! You are doing so much for everyone around you, in addition to yourself. Your the bomb!

    • sfletcher81 June 20, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Haha!! Yep, the whole kit and caboodle. Y’all help in so many ways! Thank you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

