Confidence, boo.

21 Jun

What is a boo?  It is a nickname/pet name for a girl.  At RRCF, you will hear “boo” a lot and no it isn’t to scare you.  🙂

When I started RRCF in December 2011, I had no confidence.  I suppose this isn’t surprising given my other posts.  Boy, I was in a world of hurt!  No motivation, confidence, will-power, drive or initiative to improve my overall health.

At RRCF, being confident is mandatory.  My first night attempting the power clean was horrid.  I remember Wes standing in front of me so close that I could lean over and touch him and then him telling me, “confidence, boo boo, confidence.”  I had a trainer bar plus 10 pound weights on each side.  I am thinking, “so…he wants me to pick this sucker up from ground level to my freaking neck and NOT hit him…yeah right.”  He continued to stand there and I lifted the weight, protecting it as though it would break and being careful not to hit him.  The entire WOD was about the power clean technique.  I had no confidence in myself to do it, but Wes had confidence in me.  By the end of that night, I was power cleaning.  It wasn’t perfect, but I did it.  I cannot explain to you the feeling of accomplishment!!

Funny thing is – even now as I am doing my power clean or other movements, I hear Wes’ voice saying, “confidence, boo boo, confidence.”

With everything you do – be confident and believe in yourself.  🙂

Please take note, “Confidence, boo boo, Confidence,” belongs to my coach, Wes. 

2 Responses to “Confidence, boo.”

  1. Josh June 21, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    That’s Wes alright! With his hand in his hip! Hahahaha …. Hey calls be “booski”????? I don’t even bother to ask. We’re all weird.

    • sfletcher81 June 21, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      Y’all aren’t weird! Y’all make it entertaining and fun, which is one of the reasons I enjoy CrossFit so much.

Leave a Reply

