Day 177.

28 Jun

I get home from CrossFit and had a letter waiting for me from my granny.  My granny is a special lady.  She is from Norway, but has lived in Alabama for many, many years.  She writes me notes often and sometimes they are hard to read, but that’s ok – I enjoy reading them.

This note included a copy of Day 177 of her A Daily Walk Through Psalms for Women by Freeman-Smith.  Day 177 is about fitness.  Pretty awesome timing, huh?  Considering that I was extremely hard on myself from the Gauntlet, it is nice to receive a note filled with encouragement.  I thought I would share a portion of the daily devotion page.

Fitness Matters

Do you know that your body is a sanctuary of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God?  You are not your own, for you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body.  1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Are you shaping up or spreading out?  Do you eat sensibly and exercise regularly, or do you spend most of your time on the couch with a snack in one hand and a clicker in the other?  Are you choosing to treat your body like a temple or a trash heap?  How you answer these questions will help determine how long you live and how well you live.

Physical fitness is a choice, a choice that requires discipline – it’s simple as that.  So, do yourself this favor:  treat your body like a one-of-a-kind gift from God…because that’s precisely what your body is.

Whether you are a spiritual person or not, it is true – we need to treat our body like a temple.  I never realized it before this year.  Like I said, I was so focused on losing weight to be skinny – not to be healthy and strong.  What’s going to happen when you’re in your 60’s, 70’s or 80’s?  Will you be strong enough to carry out simple day-to-day tasks??  Think about it!

Leave a Reply

