Don’t Wake Me Up…

20 Aug

…yes, the title is the same as a Chris Brown song.  And yes, it’s a love song, but for me it applies to what my life is now.  My life feels like a dream.  So, please don’t wake me up!

Tonight was a HUGE night.  I was seriously freaking out about the WOD for tonight.  I can handle power cleans and squat cleans, but when I read 1600 meter run – I was like, oh heck no!  I was trying to stay positive.  Rich and Josh Matlock were helping me stay positive – they’re really encouraging folks.

We completed our power cleans (finally made it up to 95 pounds, woot!) and it was time to run the 1600 meters – for time.  I started running and my breathing was getting out of control, but I kept telling myself – I CAN do this and I AM NOT going to stop.  400 meters done then it was 800 meters done and I’m still running…then, the breathing was manageable.  It finally dawned on me, I really CAN do this.  I’m not going to give up and man what a feeling it will be to actually run the entire 1600 meters straight.  As I’m running, I see my other fellow CrossFitters – they are also giving it all they’ve got.  We’re cheering each other on – we can do this.  And we did.  All of us.  We ran it straight.  My time for the 1600 meters was 12:11.  I stepped into the box and my coach, Josh, was like – FLETCH, you finished????  And I just nodded and started crying.  Man, what a feeling.  One more goal – accomplished.

Why was this a huge deal?  Well, back in January after CrossFitting for one month – I attempted to run the 5k at the Gump Games.  I had terrible shin splints and spent a little extra time with my coach, Josh, trying to fix the problem.  He taught me the correct way to run, but I still wasn’t strong enough to run most of it.  As I’m crying and walking the last part of the route, I see this woman – she came to find me – and she started walking with me.  Come to find out “she” was my coach’s, Wes, mom.  She kept telling me it was great that I was attempting the 5k.  We rounded the corner and then I see Wes.  They both walked with me to the finish line.  If that isn’t encouragement, I don’t know what it is.  THIS, is what CrossFit is about.  It’s about becoming part of a family – one that wants YOU to succeed.

Here’s a photo I put together.  The left photo (taken by Rich Matlock) was taken during the last leg of the 5k at the Gump Games and the right photo was taken tonight by my hubby.

Like I said, don’t wake me up.

3 Responses to “Don’t Wake Me Up…”

  1. Erica Jones August 21, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Amazing!!! =) Keep up the great work girl!!!

  2. Emily Amberson August 27, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    I struggle with running so much! I just can’t seem to find a good pace for myself. And I’m also pretty sure that my running form is terrible. Can’t wait to hear about the Color Run! I was going to sign up but it just didn’t happen. Hopefully they’ll do it next year. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

