Capital City 5k

7 Oct

Wow, what can I say about the Capital City 5k?  Let’s go back to this time last year.  Last year on October 1, 2011, I participated in my first 5k.  I was able to cross the finish line at 48:07.  I wasn’t able to run much:  my shins were killing me and not to mention I was extremely out of shape.  A few months later in December, I joined CrossFit.  We run, but we do not train for 5k’s or any other race.  Just a month ago and again on this past Thursday, I was able to run one mile straight without stopping, which was a huge accomplishment.

 

I signed up for the Capital City 5k again this year with hopes to at least run one mile.  I completely shocked myself and ran the entire 3.1 miles.  Like I mentioned in earlier blogs, I am my biggest obstacle.  I have to literally tell myself as I’m running that I can do it.  I was able to run past the Montgomery Advertiser and I thought about stopping, but then thought – heck, I’ve come this far – why stop now?  I just kept thinking, man – it would feel so good to say –  yep, I ran the entire 3.1 miles.  I could care less about my time, I just wanted to prove to myself that I was able to run the entire way.  Ahhhh…and…it happened!  I crossed the finish line at 40:13.  My next 5k will be in December.  My goal is to finish in less than 40 minutes.

 

Excited Finish!

 

My results.

 

After the 5k

3 Responses to “Capital City 5k”

  1. The Landy October 7, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    Good luck, and I’m sure you’ll do it!

    • sfletcher81 October 8, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      Thank you!!! I can’t wait to find out, that’s for sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to the World of Running.. First Ever 5k | [ j. l. d. ] Photography Blog - October 8, 2012

    […] Capital City 5k […]

Leave a Reply

