Snatch, what?

26 Dec

Snatch that weight!  Last week, one of our WODs included 1 rep max weight on the snatch.  I couldn’t get further than 55 pounds.  I knew the reason why:  I wasn’t doing them correctly.  Here’s what I wasn’t doing:

  • keeping the bar close to my body
  • shrugging
  • high pull
  • squatting

Wednesdays are open gym days at our box.  You can do gutz, a WOD, power hour or work on a certain technique.  There was already a group of girls working on the snatch technique when I got there.  Our coach, Josh, gave us the following setup to work on with lightweight (trainer bar with 10 pound plates on each side):

  1. 2 Snatch Deadlifts
  2. 2 Snatch Shrug
  3. 2 Snatch Hang Cleans
  4. 1 Snatch

I ended up doing the 4 steps with a PVC pipe and then moved to the trainer bar.  Before the night was over, I was keeping the bar close and dropping into a squat stance.  I decided to do some research on the snatch and found this awesome youtube video.  I can’t wait to get that good!  Can we say a goal for 2013???

Leave a Reply

