Ah, the Ravage.

12 Jan

RRCF’s definition of Ravage = to activate, intensify and destroy.  We kicked off the Ravage today with a series of events, before photos and weight log-in.  The Ravage will last 90 days, but the true intention of the Ravage is to show RRCF CrossFitters just how changing your life outside the box (nutrition, etc.) can maximize your performance inside the box plus gain the results you’ve been working hard for:  losing weight, maintaining weight or gaining muscle definition.  Our coach, Josh, said at our event, “Battle Outside the Box” that we spend just a few hours inside the box compared to the time outside the box – so it’s time to fix the problems outside the box!  He also mentioned we bust the WODs, but still complain about not achieving the results we’re looking for, which means there are problems “outside the box.”

I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t stuck to a true Paleo lifestyle since the summer.  When I first started CrossFit in December 2011, I ate Paleo and lost 30 pounds pretty quickly plus my WODs were much better.  I’ve improved since last year, but I don’t believe I’ve improved at the rate I would have IF I stuck to Paleo.

For the kickoff today, we started the event with a timed one mile run.  I was able to complete the one mile in a little over 10 minutes, what?!?! what!?!?!  I’m super excited about it, especially since I couldn’t exactly run a year ago.  After the one mile run, we paired up with a team-mate and my team-mate was Cat.  She is amazing!  Total beast!  She did Rx and  I did scaled.  All the stations were numbered and there were two movements per station (1 rx female, 1 scaled female, 1 rx male and 1 scaled male) with all weights preset.  There was a judge at each station to log your info.  You were to complete each movement per station, as many reps as possible, in one minute.  The movements were:  kettle bell swings, hand stand push ups, deadlifts, front squats, clean and jerks, push press, snatches, back squats, ring dips and pull ups.  After all this was done, we finished our last event with a 400 meter run.  Needless to say, I was exhausted after the three events!

The stats recorded today will be a comparison for what we can do 90 days from now.  Pretty exciting, huh?

2 Responses to “Ah, the Ravage.”

  1. Athena January 13, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    Very cool. Sounds like a great challenge.

Leave a Reply

